Change and Acknowledging Truth

Standard

The morning of my second class, I woke up in one of the greatest moods. I realized it was because in a few hours I would be heading to another lesson.

I noticed immediately when I arrived there was a different instructor there than last time. I quickly realized he must be in charge from the way everyone paid attention to him and he seemed to have the class more under control than the instructor last week. He seemed to pay a lot more attention to individuals, and came over to me a couple times to explain how I should be doing the move correctly. Working with another staff member when we split into partners and the extra attention from the instructor made me feel as though I got a lot out of the lesson.

I am still getting used to the fact it is okay to actually punch or kick when practicing. The instructor kept stressing to me to go harder on my opponent and not be nice. Another thing the instructor stressed was to not throw more than two of the same punches in a row. If you keep throwing the same punches, your opponent will know which area of their body to block.  Mixing your moves up is important so you will be actually able to throw off your opponent and strike them.

After attending two classes, I already noticed a personal change. Typically, I am apprehensive to ask questions in general because I don’t want to be annoying or seem stupid. However, I have been able to put some of my insecurities aside and ask when I am confused about a move. Honestly, I do hesitate to ask at first still but feel so much better after getting clarification.

At the end of lessons I am intrigued in evaluating how I feel after and what it means in the grand scheme of things; such as if I have improved physically or put enough effort into exercising. Some of the thoughts that have come to me or the things I have heard after only two classes has led to me to question exercise beliefs that seem to be widely believed throughout popular culture.

No Pain, No Gain – True or False?

The first time I stepped into a fitness center by my own choice was around my junior year of high school. My sister got into going and I thought it would be interesting to join her.  She would always be sore or in pain, while I could go and put what I thought was everything into my workout too and I would feel no pain. I was told that I apparently didn’t push myself hard enough, because I wasn’t experiencing any pain.

Two days after my second kickboxing class, my shoulders and hip were hurting badly. My mom told me this was a good result. I began to wonder if the “no pain, no gain” theory is actually true. I did some research and found that you might feel some pain when you start exercising and that is typical. However, you must pay attention to what kind of pain you are feeling.  Certain pains/aches such as joint pain, bone pain, muscle strains, and ligament or tendon strains are bad and should be monitored because if they are ignored they will get worse.

Sweating means losing body fat – True or False?

After my lessons I am naturally out of breath and red in the face. I was proud because I thought this meant positive results. I believed if I was sweating, it meant I was burning more calories.  I did a bit of research and found that people also have a tendency to think sweating means they are burning more fat. Although, the amount you sweat is indicative of your body’s ability to maintain its normal body temperature. You sweat when your body starts to store heat so you can experience cooling via evaporation of that sweat. Therefore, it does not have to do anything with burning more calories or losing fat.

Yes, finding out these concepts are false is disappointing news.  However becoming informed about why certain things are happening is important knowledge so you are not misinformed about your progress. Also, knowing pain you feel may mean injury not progress is very important to personal safety and well-being.

If you would like to read more about the truth of popular fitness beliefs I have attached a source below I used in my research.

http://www.webmd.com/fitness-exercise/fitness-fables

One thought on “Change and Acknowledging Truth

  1. It is awesome to see you are starting to enjoy your classes, and some pain is good! obviously not the bad pain. I remember after workouts being so tired and sore, but felt the greatest satisfaction when leaving, knowing that I pushed my body to its limit and beyond. I hope you continue to enjoy your lessons and learn more! great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

